We use cookies

By continuing to browse ihf.info, you agree to our terms of use , privacy policy and the use of cookies. For more information, please review our cookie policy.


Announcement Details

Date: 2/1/2019

From 30 November to 15 December 2019, the world’s 24 best women’s teams vie for glory at the 24th edition of the IHF Women’s World Championship to be staged in Kumamoto province in Japan.


The draw will be held on 21 June 2019 at Kanze Nohgakudo, a ‘Noh’ theatre in the Ginza Six complex in Tokyo.


Date: Friday, 21 June 2019

Venue: Kanze Nohgakudo

Address: Ginza six building 10-1 Ginza 6-chome Chuo-ku, Tokyo


14 teams are already qualified and the remaining 10 teams will be determined in May/June 2019.


Qualified teams

Hosts: Japan

Reigning champions: France

Asia: Republic of Korea, PR of China, Kazakhstan

Africa: Angola, Senegal, DR Congo

Europe: Russia, Netherlands, Romania (nine more teams to be determined in May/June 2019)

Oceania: Australia

Pan America: Brazil, Argentina (one more team to be determined in May 2019)


For more information on the 24th IHF Women’s World Championship, visit japanhandball2019.com.