We use cookies

By continuing to browse ihf.info, you agree to our terms of use , privacy policy and the use of cookies. For more information, please review our cookie policy.

2019 Men’s World Championship 2019 Men’s World Championship
Join the predictin game


Date: 7/20/2018

The Men’s 20 EHF Championship for the 22 teams not playing at the top-level continental competition, the Men’s 20 EHF EURO 2018, will be held in FYR Macedonia and Montenegro from July 20 to 29. While the Men’s 20 EHF EURO is contested between the 16 top-ranked sides in the continent, the Men’s 20 EHF Championship is intended to help the lower-ranked nations develop their junior-age players.


The competition is divided in two, with two winners awarded on the final day of competition. Participation is determined based on seeding by the EHF, which decides the 16 teams that play the 20 EHF EURO and the 22 that contest the 20 EHF Championship. The Men’s 18 EHF Championship also offers a path to the upper-level competition, with the winners qualifying for the following Men’s 20 EHF EURO.


At the first edition of the Men’s 18 EHF Championship, in 2016, Hungary, Romania and Israel won their respective tournaments and therefore qualified for the Men’s 20 EHF EURO 2018, to be played in Celje, Slovenia. This system of junior-age events for European teams was introduced in 2016 after approval of EHF Congress in 2014 and is fully implemented as of this summer.


The Men’s 20 EHF Championship will be played in both Skopje and Buducnost, with two preliminary round groups taking the court in each city. From the preliminary round, the top two teams in each group proceed to the main round, while the bottom-ranked sides contest the intermediate round. The two top-ranked squads in the main round groups qualify for the semi-finals.


For the championship in Buducnost, the preliminary round groups were drawn as follows:

Group A: Czech Republic, Austria, Netherlands, Moldova, Kosovo, Bulgaria
Group B: Slovakia, Turkey, Montenegro, Latvia, Georgia


For the championship in Skopje, the preliminary round groups are:

Group A: Belarus, Faroe Islands, Finland, Greece, Estonia, Lithuania
Group B: Switzerland, Italy, FYR Macedonia, Ukraine, Great Britain


All matches will be streamed live and free on ehfTV.com. More information on the Men’s 20 EHF Championship can be found on the EHF’s official website.